[Let’s Talk: Anime] Funimation Simuldub Summer 2016 Week 1

It’s just about time for the summer simuldub season to get underway.

Previously, I’ve talked about the ambitious season of dubbing Funimation is bringing to the masses. That time has come with the first week of shows preparing to air. Usually, I will only watch the shows that interest me and just call it good. I can’t deny though that dubbed shows are my preference and I absolutely adore voice actors especially several actors from Funimation. With that in mind, I am making it my goal to at least check out every simuldub that will be streaming. I will be discussing the dub as the show progresses and possibly making comparisons depending on what I’ve watched subbed.

Let’s take a look at the first week of simuldubs Funimation will be providing.

first-love-monster-7306First Love Monster (Premiered Sunday July 16, 11:30 am):
When I saw the first episode of this show in Japanese, I wasn’t impressed at all. There wasn’t much about the characters I found to be particularly interesting or endearing. If anything, it seemed like the only thing missing was if the main girl were more tsundere towards the guy who saved her. That being said, I do love the majority of this cast. The talent is undeniable. I’m not saying this will be enough to make this a great show, but it might be enjoyable if only to see some of my favorite actors in another project.

puzzleanddragonPuzzle & Dragons X (Premiers Tuesday July 19th, 9:00pm):
Nothing wrong with some good old fashion card game fun. It’s been a very long time since I’ve seen a card game show, let alone watched one that was dubbed. With two of my favorite actors heading the cast, this might just be a little more interesting than I originally thought. I don’t know anything about the game itself and was hesitant to watch it in Japanese since it seemed like it would be a lot of explaining. But with an English dub, I think it would be a little more manageable for me.

the-legend-of-arsland-season-2The Heroic Legand of Arslan 2: Dust Storm Dance (Premiers Tuesday July 19th, 9:30pm)
I will be skipping this title only because I haven’t finished the first season. The show didn’t appeal to me enough for me to keep watching. It’s a good show and I recommend it to fans of medieval fantasy, but just not my cup of tea.

ServampServamp (Premiers Wednesday July 20th, 11:00 am)
I’m interested in the concept of a servant vampire. It probably doesn’t mean what I think it means, but I’m still intrigued enough to give it a try. Plus the incredibly talented Clifford Chapin and Chuck Huber would make an interesting combination to hear together. This seems to be one of the titles being played up for the summer, so maybe the dub will serve to further any potential popularity.

Those are all the casts and titles that Funimation has out as of now. Check out their website for a full list of shows airing, both dubbed and subbed, and for all updates for casts in the future.

Leave a Reply

